Thai Turkey Burgers with Pineapple Pan Salsa

I really didn’t want to like Rachel Ray.  I have this inherent distrust of anyone who is popular.  It comes from being the unattractive nerdy kid in school, I inherently distrust anyone who is charming and/or particularly good looking.  If they were being nice to me it was usually to get me to help them with schoolwork.  Thus, I do not trust popular people.  That also applies to celebrity cooks/crafting people.  I really didn’t want to like Martha Stewart.  But when I was planning my wedding I couldn’t help it.  Her magazine has such great ideas, I had to break down and admit that I like Martha’s syndicate.

When I was getting really busy with my business I could no longer cook fancy intricate, long meals.  I needed things quick, but that were still tasty.  So I broke down and bought the book “Classic Rachel Ray 30 Minute Meals“.  It’s basically Rachel Ray’s greatest hits.  It. Is. Great.  I love this book.  Every  recipe is fantastic, easy, and quick.

When I first made these turkey burgers I was floored, I’d never had turkey burgers this good.  Then I made them for my sister, she was amazed too.  I took my left overs to the office for lunch, and the landlord stopped at the door to ask what smelled so amazing.  It’s that good.

Pineapple on its plant, Costa Rica

Image via Wikipedia

Most people do not know that pineapples grow from the ground, not from a tree.  I certainly didn’t know it.  Check out the bottom of a fresh pineapple some time, that is where the stem goes.  The plant looks kind of like a yucca plant (or an aloe, for those of you not from the southwest), with the pineapple growing up from the center.  My husband wants to watch the last Dr. Who episode, so that is all of the information that you get about pineapples before the main point: the recipe.

Thai Turkey Burgers with Pineapple Pan Salsa

Ingredients:

Salsa:

  • 1 fresh cored pineapple (from the produce section of the grocery.  I also use either crushed or tidbits in a can).
  • 1 T sesame oil
  • 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1/2 small red bell pepper, seeded and chopped
  • 1/4 red onion finely chopped
  • 2 T dark brown sugar
  • 10-15 fresh basil leaves, cut into thin strips.

Burgers

  • 1 1/3 lb ground turkey
  • 1 inch fresh ginger root, or 2 pinches dry ground ginger
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 T dark soy sauce
  • 2 tsp curry powder
  • coarse salt to taste
  • 2 scallions finely chopped
  • lettuce and burger buns

Directions:

  1. Drain the pineapple and cut into pieces for the food processor.  Process until it has a coarse, chunky texture.
  2. Heat sesame oil in pan, toss in red pepper flakes.  Careful!  Don’t breathe in near the pan or you will start to cough from the fumes.
  3. Once the oil smokes, put in the bell pepper and onions and cook 1-2 min.  Add pineapple and cook through.  Remove from heat and add in basil leaves.  Let sit and wait while you make the burgers.
  4. If you are cooking the burgers in a pan, set it on to heat.  If you are grilling, preheat your grill.
  5. Combine the turkey, ginger, garlic, soy sauce, curry, salt and scallions.  Form into 4 patties and cook, about 4 min on each side.
  6. Serve on buns with lots of warm pineapple salsa and lettuce.
  7. Enjoy!
About dietforfoodies

I am a lawyer who loves to grow, cook, and eat food.
This entry was posted in Chicken, Dinner, Fruit, Lunch, Simple and Quick and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thai Turkey Burgers with Pineapple Pan Salsa

  1. Mary Kathryn Smith says:

    This looks fantastic, and easily adaptable to use for veggie burgers! Can’t wait to try it.

Leave a Reply

