Raspberry Spice Pork Chops

As we all know, I love Penzey’s Spices store.  Grocery stores cannot match the quality and variety of spices and seasonings and herbs that Penzey’s offers.  As I have pointed out to my husband, the last two times I’ve been there I’ve only spent around $10, and I’m very proud of that.  Usually I don’t get out under $50.  But I think that was because I was stocking up on things I didn’t have, or more expensive items that I don’t use as much.  They have great recipes, and this is one from the catalog/magazine.  I’m sure that you will be seeing more as we go along.

This recipe calls for Raspberry Enlightenment from Penzeys.  This is a syrup kind of substance.  One would think that it would be very sweet, but it really isn’t that sweet.  It’s so versatile in what you can do with it.  They give you recipes for a wonderful baked salmon with Raspberry Enlightenment as well as a vinaigrette when you buy it.  Then you can let your imagination go wild.  One of my favorite things to do is to steam up some fresh veggies, and make some small pasta (like bow ties or spirals or similar).  Then I just toss on a little olive oil and a few tablespoons of Raspberry Enlightenment and I’m happy.

This is really a recipe for a marinade that you can use on anything.  It was great on pork chops, and it would be great on any other kind of pork, or chicken too.  You can put it in the marinade in the fridge in the morning and then it’s all ready when you get home to throw on the grill.

Raspberry Spice Marinade

Ingredients:

  1. 1/2 c wine or raspberry vinegar
  2. 1/2 c oil
  3. 2 T soy sauce
  4. 5 T raspberry enlightenment
  5. 5 T brown sugar
  6. 1 t cinnamon
  7. 1/2 tsp chipotle pepper (I didn’t have any, so I used cayenne).
  8. 1/2 t dried ginger
  9. 1/2 t salt
  10. 1 clove garlic, or 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  11. 1/2 t onion powder
  12. 1/2 t ground pepper
  13. 1/2 t dry ground mustard

Directions:

  1. Mix all of the ingredients together in a ziplock bag.  Put in your meat.  Marinade in the fridge for at least 4 hours, and as long as over night (or all day).
  2. Grill and enjoy!
About dietforfoodies

I am a lawyer who loves to grow, cook, and eat food.
This entry was posted in Chicken, Dinner, Lunch, Pork, Sauces/Dressings, Simple and Quick and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

