Ginger Apricot Pork Roast

As I walked in the door and smelled what we are having for dinner, I thought surely I have put this recipe on my blog.  This is one of our all time favorites, I make it about once a month and it never goes wrong.  It is apricot pork roast, and it is one of the best low fat recipes you will ever have.  It is super simple, easy to whip together, and crock pot, which we all love. 

I got the original recipe from weight watchers.  It told me to roast a pork loin for 45 minutes.  I found that to still be too tough and dry.  So I decided to try it in the crock pot instead.  The tenderloin is supposed to be very tender (thus “tender”loin), but I find that it still gets too dry if you just plain roast it.  I suppose that you could cover it in foil, or put it in an oven bag, to keep in the moisture.  But the crock pot is way better.

There was a pork sale at the store, so here we are.  Pork has a bunch of nutrients in it, more than just plain protein (which of course it does have plenty of).  The highest in percentage is thiamine.  I did not know what this was, but it turns out that it is essential to the digestion of carbohydrates, fats, and protein.  Pork is one of the best sources.  Other nutrients include iron, magnesium, potassium, zinc, niacin, riboflavin, B6 and B12. 

You may be thinking “but isn’t pork very fatty?”  It doesn’t have to be.  Like any protein, it all depends on the cut you get, how you trim it, and how you cook it.  Trimming is particularly important.  There are some parts that you can’t just trim out–the fat that is marbled in, but you can always take off the fat on the outside.  The roast I used did have a surprizing amount of fat on the bottom.  I didn’t realize how much until I trimmed it all off.  I would guess that I saved myself 5 ounces worth of fat points.  The marbled in fat was plenty to make it delicious and tender.  So make sure that you trim off all the excess fat to make it much more healthy.

Another essential part of tasty, low fat, cooking is using perfectly matched seasonings that are fresh and flavorful.  Ginger is always a perfect combination with pork.  When in doubt when cooking pork, turn to ginger.  There is a difference between dry ginger and fresh.  The dry stuff has a VERY different flavor.  I often use it in baking with cookies, sweets, and the like.  I also frequently use it in indian cooking.  Fresh ginger is another matter.  It has a much more pungent smell and flavor that is more savory than sweet.  But it still pairs well with sweet, as it does here.  Pickled ginger, like you get with sushi, is yet another thing.  The pickling gives it a different flavor.  It is also much crunchier.  So make sure that when a recipe calls for a certain type of ginger, you use the correct version.

Ginger Apricot Pork Roast

Ingredients:

  1. 1 pork roast.  This can be a pork tenderloin or a roast.  I prefer the large roast.  Get around 4 lbs worth.
  2. 1 Tbsp (ish–all of these depend on the size of your roast) minced garlic.
  3. 1 Tbsp ish fresh crushed ginger (I recommend the ginger in the jar that you find next to the jars of garlic in the grocery store–usually next to the tomatoes in the produce section)
  4. 1 tsp ish salt, and some pepper
  5. Apricot preserves
  6. Canned peaches or apricots (or you can use fresh if you like).

Directions

  1. Trim the pork of all excess fat.
  2. In a small bowl, mix together the garlic, ginger, salt, and a little bit of pepper.
  3. Rub the ginger mixture all over the roast, on both the top and the bottom.  Put it in the crock pot.
  4. Spoon apricot preserves on top.  It depends on how sweet you like it on how much you put on there.  I like to do about 1/2 to 2/3 of the jar.
  5. Cut up the peaches/apricots into bite size pieces.  Toss in on top.
  6. Put on low in the crock pot for at least 6 hours, 7 or 8 is better.
  7. You can shred it if you like, I like to do it this way with the pork loin..  You can make a kind of bbq sauce with it by shredding the pork, and then adding in a touch more preserves and a little brown sugar or molasses.  It is delicious.  If I do a roast, I prefer to just take my fork and pull out large pieces. 
  8. Enjoy!
About dietforfoodies

I am a lawyer who loves to grow, cook, and eat food.
This entry was posted in Crock Pot, Dinner, Lunch, Pork, Simple and Quick and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ginger Apricot Pork Roast

  1. sue rutherford says:

    Meggin…..Have you tryed this or some of your other recipes in a pressure cooker…..We have just purchased one and last week “did” a pork tenderloin roast. In 45 minutes it was tender and still juicy. [Glenn loves to use it]
    Do some research for Kalua Pork……. Aloha…..it is wonderful and calls for ground ginger….go to Vietnesse ot Thai stores for the leaves needed to wrap the meat.., this becomes the best pulled pork you,ve tasted.
    I envy and commend you for your love of cooking………I hate to cook……just get an urge once in awhile lol…..Sue

Leave a Reply

