Sloppy Bens

I didn’t want to do much cooking today, and I had ground beef handy.  And I wanted something simple and fast.  I thought about doing traditional sloppy joes with the McCormick mix, but I didn’t have any of the mix.  So I thought about doing ranch burgers, a recipe by my great grandmother.  But I didn’t have it on hand.  So I thought I would make something up.  I wanted something similar, but without the overwhelming tomato taste.  This is nice and savory and creamy.  You may be wondering why it is not named “sloppy Meggins.”  It’s because while I can be a bit disorganized, I would rather have my husband associated with sloppiness than me.  =)

I can’t really think about an educational section for this post, so you are repreaved of the boring part.

Sloppy Bens

Ingredients

  1. 1 lb 97% fat free ground beef
  2. 1/4 of a small onion, diced
  3. Little bit of olive oil
  4. 1 clove garlic, minced
  5. 1/4 C water
  6. 1 Tbsp (plus some) Liptons Onion Soup Mix (the stuff you use to make onion dip).
  7. About 3 tsp Penzys Chicago Steak Seasoning (I found that there is a Penzys Spices in Cherry Creek as well as olde town Arvada).
  8. Scant 1/2 c plain yogurt

Directions

  1. Put a little oil in a skillet.  When it is hot, add in the diced onions and sautee until golden brown.  Put in garlic and sautee for about a minute until fragrant.
  2. Put the beef in with the onion.  Brown slightly.  Add in the water and the seasonings.  The water is used to spread around the seasonings evenly.  Mix well.  Continue until the meat is browned.
  3. Take the skillet off the heat.  Mix in the yogurt, a little at a time.  You don’t want to do it on the the heat because it will curdle the yogurt.  Once it is the correct consistency for your taste, do a taste test.  I had to fiddle around with the seasonings a little before it was where I wanted it, but it was good.
  4. Serve on toasted bread or buns.
About dietforfoodies

I am a lawyer who loves to grow, cook, and eat food.
This entry was posted in Beef, Dinner, Lunch, Simple and Quick, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

