Sweet Potato Fries

These things are DELICIOUS!  I got the recipe in one of the hand outs when I first started weight watchers years ago.  It has remained one of my very favorites for years.  It is super simple, very healthy, and a really nice treat.  I was actually going to wait to have this as part of “cooking with a schlub”.  But Ben is bowling tonight, and I felt like doing a blog entry, so too bad for him.  But I can say that he loves this recipe.

This recipe, like all of my sweet potato recipes, includes curry.  This is actually the recipe that taught me that curry and sweet potatoes are inseparable (for me).  Since I have already waxed on about the health benefits of sweet potatoes, my educational section here will be about curry.

I admit (though it is shameful to do so) that I did not know the origin of “curry” until last November.  I wanted to learn more about Indian cooking.  It is something that I love, but that I never learned to do, or had the faintest idea where to start.  So Ben bought me the book “1000 Indian Recipes”.  It is a great book, and once I get the curry sauce down to where I am really satisfied with it, I will share it on there.  But the revelation was that curry is, in fact, just an accumulation of many different spices ground together in a certain blend (different depending on the type of curry that you buy).  That is why if you go into a very good spice shop like Penzeys or the like, they have a variety of curries, all very distinct from each other.  So, if you want to have some adventurous fun, buy an Indian cookbook and learn how to make your own curry powder.

Sweet Potato Fries

Ingredients:

  1. Sweet potatoes or yams.  Both work fine.  I usually do one large one for two people.
  2. About 1/2 tsp curry powder.  More or less to your taste.
  3. A dash cayenne pepper
  4. Olive oil
  5. Salt
  6. Duck sauce (for dipping, optional).  You will find it in the asian section of your grocery store.  And no, it is not made of duck.  But I can see how it would be delicious served over duck.

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 425
  2. Peel the potatoes.  Cut in half across the middle.  Cut each again in half, so that you have quarters.  Cut those into slices like large, steakhouse style french fries.
  3. Put them in a large bowl.  Microwave 5 minutes.  I find that if I don’t do that, the centers are still raw when the outside is perfectly done.
  4. Drizzle them with olive oil.  I estimate that I use about 1 Tbsp.  Use whatever is necessary to get them lightly coated.  You can also choose to spray them with nonstick spray.  You can even use the Pam brand olive oil spray.  This will cut down on your oil use. 
  5. Sprinkle with curry powder (I never measure it out, I just sprinkle), salt, and a dash of cayenne powder (tonight’s fries for me were accidentally a little heavy on the cayenne.  Oops.  Oh well, a good excuse to use more duck sauce).
  6. Mix until all the pieces are well coated with the oil and the spices.
  7. Spray a cookie sheet with nonstick spray.  Lay out on a cookie sheet (or two) in a single layer.  Make sure that the edges are not touching each other.  You want space to make sure that they cook properly.  I also give them a quick spray over the top with nonstick spray.  I have found that if there is not enough oil on the potatoes they won’t crisp properly.
  8. Bake them in the oven.  The length of time depends on your altitude, the thickness of your slices, the amount of oil, and the quirkyness of your oven.  I check them after 10 minutes and go from there.  It usually takes between 20 and 30 minutes, but I’ve had it go up to 45 if I didn’t oil sufficiently.  Be careful!  These burn really quickly.  But, as my grandmother said when I made them for her and my grandfather last week, it’s ok because the burned ones taste good too (which is true, but I don’t think my grandfather appreciated having the fire alarm going off.)
  9. Dip in duck sauce and enjoy.
About dietforfoodies

I am a lawyer who loves to grow, cook, and eat food.
This entry was posted in Sides, Simple and Quick, Snack, Squash/Root Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

