Roasted Sweet Potatoes

Last night we had the end of our left over steaks from our wedding (and yes, I did budget my daily points for the steak).  I wanted to have the traditional baked potatoes for our meat and potatoes dinner.  But then I also was having a sweet tooth attack.  So I decided to do roasted sweet potatoes instead.  You get more potato for fewer points, and it also means that I didn’t feel a craving for something sweet for dessert.  A huge points saver!

I have started a mission to solve the problem of butter.  I used to not like real butter, I was stuck in my suburbia margarine rut.  But once I started really cooking with butter I FELL IN LOVE!  I want to continue to get the flavor and creaminess of butter but to cut down on the points.  Unfortunately, that inspiration came to me while I was eating the potato.  So stay tuned for the results of my many to come butter experiments.

Roasted Sweet Potatoes                                                                                      Points: 4.5

Problem: 1.  Traditionally, I slather my sweet potatoes in butter; 2. the recipes for the spices are usually just cinnamon with a little nutmeg or allspice.  First, that is kind of a flat flavor, and second, it always tastes too powdery.

Solution: 1.  Cut 1/2 a Tablespoon off of butter (1.5 tsp or 1.5 pts) off of the stick.  Cut it in small pieces to put all over the potato.  2.  Add a bit of cayenne pepper and curry powder to the spices to give it depth and to take off the overly powdery texture.

Recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 2, 5 inch long sweet potatoes or yams
  • 3/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp allspice
  • 1/8 tsp curry powder
  • 2 dashes very spicy cayenne pepper powder.
  • Stick of butter cut into 2-half Tablespoon squares.

Directions:

  • Preheat the oven to 450.
  • Wash the potatoes.  Stab them in a few different places all around with a fork to help it vent.  DO NOT cut off the ends yet, it will dry it out.
  • Put them in a plastic ziplock bag.  Microwave for 5 minutes.  This helps cook them a little bit before you put them in to roast, and putting them in the bag holds in the moisture.  Otherwise it will take forever.
  • When they are done, wrap each individually in aluminum foil.  Do NOT poke holes in the foil, otherwise you’ll loose essential moisture.
  • Roast in the oven for about 45 minutes.  (Note: I am at about 5,500 feet.  It will probably take you much less time at a lower elevation).
  • Squeeze them with a potholder to see if they squish easily.  If so, they are done.
  • While they are roasting, make up your spices.  Mix them all up in a small bowl with a fork.
  • Once the potatoes are finished, cut them in half lengthwise.  Then use a butter knife to cut it into diamond shapes.  You can also use a fork to go ahead and break it up even more.
  • Take your pats of butter and cut them up into small pieces.  Scatter these across your potato right after you have cut it up.  Use your fork to distribute the butter as much as possible.  Sprinkle spices to your taste.
About dietforfoodies

I am a lawyer who loves to grow, cook, and eat food.
This entry was posted in 4 Points, Sides, Squash/Root Vegetables, The Great Butter Quest and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

